

PRESS RELEASE

Media Contact
Paul J. Oyier | Lorine Achieng
Media Council of Kenya
Tel: +254-20-2737058 | +254-722 74 99 44 | +254-723 795020

Email: communications@mediacouncil.or.ke

Monday, 1st June, 2020.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONGRATULATORY MESSAGE TO THE JOURNALISTS CONFERRED WITH UZALENDO AWARD AT THE 57^{TH} MADARAKA DAY CELEBRATIONS

NAIROBI, 1st June 2020 – His Excellency President Uhuru Kenyatta has today conferred the Uzalendo Award to Journalists and Doctors, for their exemplary service in helping to steer the country through the COVID-19 pandemic. The honors were presented during the commemoration of the 57th Madaraka Day celebrations held at State House in Nairobi.

"The COVID 19 pandemic has challenged journalists and the media to go beyond normal reporting to conducting in-depth research on the disease, with a view of informing and educating the public from a knowledgeable point of view. Journalists have been experiencing difficulties in accessing information on this disease, that notwithstanding their resilience in seeking the truth has been commendable." **Maina Muiruri, Chairman, Media Council of Kenya**. This recognition is timely as it creates a feeling of vindication from the term "Githeri Media" to people who can be trusted to inform, educate and entertain which is the core of journalism, he added.

"Demystifying COVID-19 has been an uphill task for the journalists who have to ensure that they provide factual and timely reportage to the public. Consistent and continuous media engagement in creating awareness among the public has and continues to play a crucial role in containing the spread of the virus. Indeed, this is a special Madaraka Day for the Media fraternity more so to the journalists who have been bestowed the Uzalendo Award." **David Omwoyo, CEO, Media Council of Kenya.**

The Media Council of Kenya delightfully, congratulates the following journalists for their excellent work in the coverage of the COVID-19 pandemic;

- 1. Ms. Chemutai Goin Citizen TV
- 2. Ms. Purity Museo -KBC
- 3. Dr. Mercy Korir KTN
- 4. Ms. Tabitha Rotich Citizen Radio
- 5. Ms. Nasibo Kabale Daily Nation
- 6. Mr. Vincent Ateya Radio Citizen
- 7. Mr. Jeff Kuria Inooro
- 8. Mr. Enock Sikolia Citizen TV
- 9. Mr. Robin Njogu Royal Media Services
- 10. Ms. Asha Mwilu Citizen TV
- 11. Mr. Nelson Aruya Citizen TV



- 12. Ms. Angela Oketch- Nation Media Group
- 13. Ms. Faith Mailu
- 14. Mr. Phillip Ogola
- 15. Ms. Caroline Makena
- 16. Ms. Rebecca Mutua
- 17. Ms. Veronica Atieno

About the Media Council of Kenya

The Media Council of Kenya (MCK) is the principal body mandated to develop and regulate the media industry in Kenya in order to promote media freedom, professionalism and independence. It is established by law under the Media Council Act of 2013 to fulfill Article 34 (5) of the Constitution of Kenya which enshrines media freedom.

###